Homosexuality and the Church – Open letter to David Randall

Homosexuality and the Church – Open letter to David Randall – minister of Loudoun parish church

Dear Rev(?) Randall

Thank you very much for your efforts to teach us the laws of God.

I myself have learned a lot listening to and reading your comments on the newspapers, radio and TV (such as

“What the Bible teaches on sexuality is perfectly clear and the church has always taught that homosexual activity is sinful”)

I wish to share what I have learned from you with the largest possible number of people.

For example, when someone starts to defend homosexuality, now I limit myself to reminding them that the Book of Leviticus, chapter 18, verse 22, clearly establishes that homosexuality is an abomination. Full stop.

But, I need some additional concrete advice from you concerning other biblical laws and how to best adhere to them:

1) I would like to sell my daughter as a maid or servant, just as mentioned in the Book of Exodus, 21:7.  Taking into consideration the though economic climate of our times, in your opinion, what would be an adequate price for her?

2)  Also, the Book of Leviticus 25:44 establishes that I can own slaves, either men or women, as long as I acquire them from neighbouring countries.

A friend of mine is adamant that this law only applies to Europeans and not to other British nations such as England and Wales (I live in Scotland). Would you please clarify that point? Why can I not have English slaves?

3) I know that I’m not allowed to have any contact with women during their period of menstrual impurity ( Leviticus 18:19, 20:18 etc.)

The problem that I have is the following: How can I find out whether the women around me are menstruating or not? I have tried to ask them, but many women are shy and others get very offended if asked!

4)  I have a neighbour who insists on working on Saturdays. The Book of Exodus 35:2 clearly establishes that anyone working on Saturdays ought to receive capital punishment. Does it mean that I have to kill him personally? Or would you (or any of your followers) be able to help me with this dreary task?

5)  In Leviticus Book 21:18-21 it is established that no one is to approach God’s altar if he/she has poor eyesight.  I must confess that I need glasses to see.  Does my sight acuity need to be 100% before I can approach God’s altar?:  Is there a way to soften a little this requirement?

6)  Most of my male friends have very well trimmed hair although this is clearly forbidden in Leviticus 19:27. How should they be killed?

7) I know, thanks to Leviticus 11:6-8, that those people who touch the skin of a dead pig become impure. I happen to play American soccer, which uses balls made with pig skin. Would I be allowed to continue playing the game if I wore gloves?

8)  One of my uncles has a farm. He doesn’t comply with Leviticus 19:19, because he plants two different kinds of seeds on the same field. His wife is also guilty as she wears clothes made with fabric woven using two different fibres, namely, cotton and polyester.

Moreover, she spends the day pronouncing blasphemies and cursing herself.  Will it be necessary to carry out the complicated procedure of gathering all the people in our town to stone him? Or could we adopt a simpler procedure such as burning him at a private gathering, as it is done to a man who sleeps with his mother-in-law, or a woman who sleeps with her father-in-law (Leviticus 20:14)?

I know that you have studied this subject in great depth and entirely trust your advice.

Thank you again for reminding us that God’s word is eternal and unalterable.

(Adapted from  a Brazilian email)

Share this post : Social! del.icio.us it! del.iri.ous! digg it! Facebook it! live it! reddit! yahoo!

 

Digg This
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

